Board of Trustees

Christopher W. Daniels '05, President
Abby Mrozinski '98, Vice President
Geordie Hayward '04, Treasurer
Bonnie Wu, Secretary

Sarah Baylin
Krista Griffith
David Ley Hamilton
Caroline Tatnall Ketcham ’58
Stephen D. Marvin '88
Keith Morton ’74
Pamela Politis, PhD
Jonathan Silver '06
Loni Tabb, PhD
Sally Veghte
Vincent Watchorn III '87
Gregory W. Werkheiser
David T. Woods
Terri M. Young

Board of Trustees Overview

Overview: The Tatnall School is a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation chartered in the state of Delaware and governed by a set of by-laws. The Board of Trustees serves as the governing body and works to uphold Tatnall’s mission, provide fiduciary oversight, hire and support the Head of School, and engage in long-range strategic planning.

Composition: Tatnall’s Board of Trustees can include up to 21 members. Each Trustee serves as a volunteer and is elected in accordance with the School’s by-laws. Trustees come from many different backgrounds — corporations, charitable organizations,
education, finance, government, law, medicine — and volunteer their expertise, resources, and time to the School.

Officers: Board Officers include the President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary. The Executive Committee is chaired by the President and consists of the Officers, plus other Trustees invited by the Board President. All Officers are elected by the Board annually.

Meetings and Committees: There are at least seven regular meetings of the Board each year, including a fall retreat. Trustees must serve on at least one standing committee, which includes: Audit, Buildings & Grounds, DEI, Development, Executive, Finance, Governance, and Investment. In any given year, the Board President may create task
forces or steering committees to address strategic issues.

Term: Trustees are invited to serve for a three-year term. At the end of each three-year term, the Board President and Governance Chair talk with each Trustee to ensure another term is mutually agreed upon by both parties. The basic term limit provision is that a Trustee’s service is limited to three terms of three years each.

Nominations: Trustees are nominated to the Board through the Governance Committee, which is responsible for overseeing Board membership, leadership, and succession planning. The Governance Committee welcomes recommendations from current and former Trustees, administrators, alumni, and other constituencies of the School. The Governance Committee evaluates prospective Trustees and brings forth nominations to the Board. Criteria for election include the ability to support and nurture the mission of the School, act as fiduciaries who prioritize the long-term welfare of the institution, and
reflect the current diversity and future aspirations of The Tatnall School. The Board of Trustees is populated by members whose diverse skills and expertise help the Board perform its duties, including the ability and willingness to support the School’s fundraising needs.
Questions: If you have questions regarding the Board of Trustees, please do not hesitate to contact the current Board President.

The Tatnall School

The Tatnall School is an independent, coeducational, college preparatory day school for students in PK3 through Grade 12 located in Wilmington, Delaware.